Mike Shinoda Announces New Album 'Dropped Frames, Vol. 1' Curated From Quarantine Livestreams

The latest from the Linkin Park star

June 30, 2020

Since quarantine began, Mike Shinoda has been hosting near-daily livestreams during which he creates a new piece of music on the spot, inspired by fan ideas. Now, he's turning those songs into an album.

Dropped Frames, Vol. 1, which is due out July 10, features 12 tracks that the Linkin Park vocalist/multi-instrumentalist curated from the livestream sessions. The album consists mostly of instrumentals, which were born out of fan suggestions including "Nintendo Game Boy sounds," Bollywood hip hop," and "'90s boy band pop."

One song on the record, "Open Door," does include vocals from Shinoda as well as seven fans who submitted their voices. You can download "Open Door," as well as the tracks "Super Galaxtica" and "Osiris," now via digital outlets.

"'Dropped Frames' is just as much about the live channel as it is about the 'album,'" Shinoda says. "The collection of songs is a highlight reel of the tracks I make on the channel, but a big part of the experience is the stream itself."

"When I start, I usually have very little idea of where it will go," he continues. "What comes out is a product of the viewers' suggestions, my spur-of-the-moment ideas, and whatever inexplicable magic is floating in between."

Dropped Frames, Vol. 1 follows Shinoda's 2018 solo debut Post Traumatic, which was recorded following the death of Chester Bennington.

Here's the Dropped Frames, Vol. 1 track list:

"Open Door"
"Super Galaxtica"
"Cupcake Cake"
"El Rey Demonio"
"Doodle Buzz"
"Channeling Pt. 1" feat. Dan Mayo
"Babble Bobble"
"Session McSessionface"
"Neon Crickets"
"Booty Down"

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram